Just keep walking.

I listened to Francis Chan’s Forgotten God recently. He mentions in the interview that precedes the book that so many times we are more than willing to seek God’s will—have you ever heard any Christian say “I’m not interested in seeking God’s will for my life”? Not usually. However, we have a difficult time following his guidance blindly. We aren’t willing to wake up early to spend time with him. We aren’t willing to turn off the TV. We aren’t willing to knock on our neighbors door and see how we can meet a need today. And I don’t think it’s necessarily an issue of laziness, but more so an issue of trust. At least it is for me. I find myself often doubting whether or not God will bless a step I take with blind faith. This fear (which is not from God…I know) talks me out of stepping out.

There is a great difference between seeking his will and doing his will.

But what if I don’t know if that’s his will or my will?

I’m having trouble figuring out what he wants me to do, so I’m going to wait it out for clarity.

Those are my excuses. Sure, God’s will doesn’t always come in our timing right when we need it to. But God NEVER intends us to be stagnant. He does call us to “Be Still” …and know that he is God. He does call us to cultivate a garden of solitude so we can better know his will with clarity. But he never calls us to continue to make excuses during the time of sacred waiting.

I want to be the difference between the follower who spends all of their life seeking his will and the follower who performs and acts in his will. I don’t have to have all of the answers to walk in his will. I just have to have to be willing to not have all of the answers.

Yes, Lord, walking in the way of your truth, we wait eagerly for you, for your name and your renown are the desire of our souls. [Isaiah 26:8]

Leave a Reply

